Flawed (Flawed #1) by Cecelia Ahern

 Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.
23438288
But then Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

(via Goodreads)

I purchased this book for my YA Book Club.

 

From the author of PS I Love You and Love, Rosie, Cecelia Ahern makes her YA debut with Flawed. This book has received mixed reviews, with most either vehemently hating it, or passionately loving it.

I’m in the middle.

A really great concept, Ahern’s book discusses what it means to be perfect, and what makes a good human. Our main character is the epitome of a ‘perfect’ in this dystopian society until one wrong decision throws her into the bowels of this world.

I like the concept. It’s not original or unique, but it is an idea that we as human beings will examine until the end of time.

25859216

What I wasn’t overly fussed on was our main character. She is a likeable character but I just didn’t connect with her as much as I wanted to. There was no growth to her character. After such a traumatic and eye opening experience, I expect anyone to grow. Instead, all she does is move her need to be saved from one boy to another.

And we all know how much I loathe female characters who fixate their self worth and survival on men.

I wanted her to find her own strength, but alas, I wasn’t to see it in this book. Maybe it’s because of Ahern’s previous writings? I don’t know. But I’m tired of it.

3.75/5

Leave a Reply

