Gifted Thief by Helen Harper

Disclaimer: I received this eBook in exchange for an honest review from Netgalley.

26794855

Orphan. Runaway. Thief.

Since the moment I was ripped from my mother’s womb, I’ve been an outcast amongst my own kind. The Sidhe might possess magical Gifts, unbelievable wealth and unfathomable power but I don’t want a thing to do with them. I ran away from their lands in the Highlands of Scotland when I was eleven years old and I’ve never looked back. I don’t need a Clan. I’ve got my own family of highly skilled thieves who mean more to me than any Sidhe ever could.

Unfortunately for me, the playboy heir to the Moncrieffe Clan has something I desperately need. To get it back, I’m going to have to plunge myself back into that world, no matter what the consequences may be. I suppose it’s just as well I have sense of humour. I think I’m going to need it.

(via Goodreads)

The first in Harper’s Highland Magic series, this novel falls flat to catch audiences. The main character, Integrity, is on the whole unlikable and cliched. Her one liners and internalisation is bland. She comes across as a know-it-all, and is a little too abrasive.

Most of the main characters are two dimensional and cardboard cut-outs of typical characters. The main male lead is unlikeable and the author seemed a little undecided as to what they wanted the character to be.

It’s a mix of ‘Lost Girl’ and ‘Anita Blake’ and it falls very short.

1/5

Leave a Reply

