Allegiant (Divergent #3) by Veronica Roth

allegiant-movie-poster

How do I begin to review Allegiant without spoiling it? Let’s try…

Allegiant picks up where Insurgent left off. Tris and Four are one step closer to discovering who they are and where they came from.

Allegiant is about revelation and closure. It is the final chapter in a trilogy that explores human nature, community and control. This book sees our characters come into their own. We have followed them from green initiates to adults navigating a world that is markedly different from the one they knew.

I found this book to be far more accessible than Insurgent. The action was faster, the dialogue quicker and the characters confident. However, the storyline is repetitive in sections, like we are visiting the same few scenes again and again. The new supporting characters are interesting and provide a dynamic to the story that we didn’t see in the other two novels. I would have liked to see their characters develop more and find out where they came from but within the constraints of the story I can understand why this wasn’t done.

Am I doing well not spoiling?

DON’T READ THE NEXT PARAGRAPH IF YOU’VE HEARD NOTHING ABOUT THE LAST SECTION OF THE BOOK…JUMP TO THE ONE AFTER…

The ending. There is a lot of talk on this ending. I knew something was going to happen, however I was lucky not to know what it was. Having said that I have a wicked imagination and pretty much guessed it.

IF YOU SKIPPED IT’S SAFE TO CONTINUE…

The movie will be out soon. Actually, it’s two movies. I’m not sure how they are going to stretch that story out to two movies, but we’ll find out soon enough. With the departure from the book we saw in the second movie, we may be in for some new narrative.

I am glad I stuck with the trilogy and finished it out. Was I happy with where it went? Not one hundred percent. But overall I enjoyed Roth’s writing style and I look forward to seeing what she writes next.

3.5/5

Leave a Reply

