Insurgent (Divergent #2) by Veronica Roth

Book two in he Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth, Insurgent picks up where Divergent left off. Our main characters continue on their quest to uncover the truth about their world and who they are.

This book, for me, is a bridging novel. That’s not to say I didn’t like the book, I did. It jumps straight into the action and propels towards another cliffhanger that will lead us into the final instalment.

I felt that certain scenes in the Tris and Four story arc were a bit repetitive. In fact, on occasion I wanted to skim over the scene and return to the action. Upon reflection, this is actually well done. Tris is a teenager. Teenagers are immersed in their emotional growth which usually expresses itself by equal extremes of confusion and passion. After the fact, it’s not nearly as tiresome as I thought it was at the time of reading.

There was so much to remember in Insurgent. So many characters were introduced. The customs of each faction were explored, opening up new worlds to us as readers. This was welcome. It was also an exercise in trying to remember it all! There is no question that Roth spent a great deal of time building this world. It pays off. The reader is never left wondering what something looks like, where it is, or why it is.

I have the final instalment to read next. I’m taking a quick break from YA to read an auto-biography (which I will also review here). As soon as I’m done with it (50 pages to go!) I will be jumping right into Allegiant. I’m looking forward to it.

My confession – I went on YouTube and marathoned BookTube videos. I then bought books via my favourite online store, Booktopia. Many reviews to come 🙂

3.5/5

550b3eb77681a.preview-620 816jODGyYmL a pic insurgent y450-293

Leave a Reply

